Expert Infantry Badge

<< Previous in Army Badges Next in Army Badges >>

Product Options

Our Low Price: Starting at $3.00
Manufacturer: Uniform Accessories Unlimited
The Expert Infantryman Badge, or EIB, is a military badge of the United States Army. Although similar in name and appearance to the Combat Infantryman Badge (CIB), it is a completely different award: while the CIB is awarded for participation in ground combat, the EIB is presented for completion of a course of testing designed to demonstrate proficiency in infantry skills.

The EIB was first created in October 1943. Currently, it is awarded to U.S. Army personnel who hold infantry or special forces military occupational specialties. To be awarded the EIB, the soldier must complete a number of prerequisites and pass a battery of graded tests on basic infantry skills; usually the testing phase is the culmination of weeks of training.

The EIB test is administered on average once per year with pass rates usually near 10 percent, depending on the unit conducting testing.

Personnel who have been awarded both the EIB and the CIB are not authorized to wear both awards simultaneously. In such cases, the CIB has precedence according to Army Regulation 670-1. However, while the CIB may have precedence, holders of both may choose to wear the EIB instead of the CIB.

A primary MOS in CMF 11 or 18 series position or be a commissioned officer in the infantry or in a Special Forces branch.

Army Physical Fitness Test: score at least 75 points in all events according to the candidate's age group;

Land navigation: complete a day and a night land navigation course;

Weapon qualification: earn an "expert" qualification on their assigned weapon, typically an M16/M4; in the case of mortarmen (MOS 11C) expert qualification on the mortar is an additional requirement.

Forced road march: complete a 12-mile road march, carrying M4 and 35 lb. load + extra gear for a total of up to 70 lbs, within three hours

Lane or station testing in individual tasks, graded as pass/fail ("GO"/"NO GO"). There are approximately 30-35 stations in this phase. Candidates must pass every station; if they receive a "NO GO" on their first attempt, they have one chance to retest. A second "NO GO" at any station results in a failure for the entire testing phase. In addition, if a candidate receives 3 "NO GO"s (even if distributed over three stations) they have similarly failed the phase. Generally there are multiple stations in all the following areas (less common/defunct tasks in italics):

First Aid

Nuclear, Biological, Chemical (NBC) procedures

Call for fire (indirect fire)

Techniques for movement under fire, camouflage, hand-signaling, range estimation, and reporting contact to higher headquarters

Communications: competency with ASIP and SINCGARS field radios and procedures

Map reading: terrain identification, use of military GPS

Weapons proficiency: load, unload, perform function checks, clear, correct malfunctions, etc. for M9, M16/M4, M203, M249, M240B, M60, M2, Mk 19, AT4, Javelin; employ hand grenades, Claymore, and anti-tank mines

Proficiency with night vision devices

Boresighting proficiency

Product Reviews

(0 Ratings, 0 Reviews)

Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty.