Iraq Campaign Medal

<< Previous in Military Awards And Decorations (I-Z) Next in Military Awards And Decorations (I-Z) >>

Product Options

Our Low Price: Starting at $0.85
Manufacturer: Uniform Accessories Unlimited
Awards are sold as one per pack. The box set consist of the large medal and ribbon mounted inside the presentation box.

The Iraq Campaign Medal is a military award of the United States armed forces which was created by Executive Order 13363 of President George W. Bush on May 28, 2004. The Iraq Campaign Medal was designed by the U.S. Army Institute of Heraldry.

The Iraq Campaign Medal became available for general distribution in June 2005. It is awarded to any member of the U.S. military who has performed duty within the borders of Iraq (or its territorial waters) for a period of thirty consecutive days or sixty non-consecutive days. The medal is retroactive to March 19, 2003 and is active until a date to be determined. Personnel who have been engaged in combat with an enemy force, or personnel who have been wounded in combat or wounded as a result of a terrorist attack within Iraq, may receive the Iraq Campaign Medal regardless of the number of days spent within the country. The medal is also awarded posthumously to any service member who dies in the line of duty within Iraq, including from non-combat injuries such as accidents and mishaps.

The Iraq Campaign Medal may be awarded with the arrowhead device for qualified soldiers. The Iraq Campaign Medal may be awarded with the combat operation insignia for qualified sailors assigned to Marine Corps units. The following are the established combat campaigns authorized for service stars to the Iraq Campaign Medal.[6] In June 23rd 2011 a DOD announcement closed the Iraqi Sovereignty phase and authorized a additional service star for participation in Operation New Dawn.

Liberation of Iraq - March 19 to May 1, 2003
Transition of Iraq - May 2, 2003 to June 28, 2004
Iraqi Governance - June 29, 2004 to December 15, 2005
National Resolution - December 16, 2005 to January 9, 2007
Iraqi Surge - January 10, 2007 to December 31, 2008
Iraqi Sovereignty - January 1, 2009 to August 31, 2010
New Dawn - September 1, 2010 - to a date to be determined

The award replaces the Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal for service in Iraq and personnel who previously received the GWOTEM for Iraq service may elect to exchange the medal for the new Iraq Campaign Medal. Both medals may not be received for the same period of service in Iraq and any current Iraq service will be recognized only with the Iraq Campaign Medal. To be awarded the Iraqi Campaign Medal, Soldiers must have served 30 consecutive, or 60 non-consecutive days, in Iraq serving in support of Operation Iraqi Freedom or Operation New Dawn.

Product Reviews

(0 Ratings, 0 Reviews)

Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty.